Sending a campaign and campaign batching

This article explains sending an email and how campaign batching works.

Now that you have previewed your test email and everything looks good, you are ready to send!

If you want to schedule your email to send at a future date, see our documentation on scheduling a campaign, here.

To send your email now, click the Send Now button on the review page of the campaign setup.

After clicking the Send Now button, you will come a screen where you can see the processing status of your campaign as well as the sending status or batches of your campaign. 

Processing Status

After clicking send on your email, your campaign will be in one of the following processing statuses;

Processing: this status means your campaign is in the process of batch sending emails to your customers. Read below for more information on batching.

Executed: this status means that all batches have sent successfully. You can now review the stats related to this campaign. Click here for more information on reviewing campaign stats.  

Blocked: this status means the campaign has been blocked and future email batches have been cancelled and will not send. 

A campaign is blocked when there is not enough trusted emails in the batch (i.e. not enough customers opened the email or there were too many bounces).

Admin have the option to receive a system notification when a campaign is blocked that will include a link to the blocked campaign, the title of the campaign and the reason for the block. You can then rectify the issue(s).

For more information regarding System Notifications, click here.

Commerce7-Sale (1)-1

Fixing blocked campaigns

We recommend reviewing the reason your campaign email has been blocked. Blocked campaigns will be marked with a red notification across the top with the reason. The most common reasons a campaign will be blocked is too many bounces or too few opens. For more information on how to fix blocked campaigns, click here.

Email batching

Emails are sent in batches to create 'trust flags' on the customer emails. This helps with bounce rate and speed of sending.

As you create and send more emails to your customers and their email is flagged as 'trusted' the time between batches will get faster. The time between batches will depend on the percentage of customer emails that are flagged as 'trusted'. 

In order for an email to be trusted, an action must be taken by the customer such as opening the email. If a customer doesn't open an email within 4 hours of receiving it, the email is not considered trusted and the campaign will get blocked.

Additionally, if the system detects too many bounces in a batch, your campaign could get blocked.

To see the batches your email will send, look under the Sending Status section. Here you can view the following;

  • Number of batches the email will send in
  • Date the batch will send
  • Number of emails that will be sent within the batch 

Commerce7-Welcome (1)

To cancel an upcoming batch click Cancel Sending. This will stop the remaining batches from sending.

Why does my campaign sometimes send in 1 batch and other times in 3 batches?

If the customer tag you’re sending to has 50 customers or less, the email will be sent in 1 batch. For customer tags with greater than 50 customers, the email will be sent in 3 batches.

What’s the difference between a trusted vs. untrusted campaign?

A trusted campaign means that 50% or more of the emails within the customer tag you are emailing, are marked as trusted.

How does trust affect campaign sending?

If a campaign is trusted, it will send each batch within 15 minutes of each other. If a campaign is not trusted, it will send each batch with a minimum 4 hour delay, and only between the hours of 8am-5pm (in the time zone specified under Settings > General).

This means that if a campaign is scheduled at 2pm, the next batch will be scheduled for 8am the next day instead of 6pm (as it falls outside the allowed time range).

What determines if a customer is trusted or not?

Actions that mark the customer as “real” like placing an order, signing up for a club, opening or clicking emails, can mark them as trusted. 

My campaign is blocked, what do I do?

When a campaign is blocked, you will be sent a system notification including a link to the blocked campaign, the title and the reason for the block. You can then rectify the issue(s). For more information on System Notifications, click here.

Since campaign cannot be resent, we recommend duplicating the campaign, making any necessary changes and then scheduling the campaign to send again.